The Chess Saga of Fridrik Olafsson

Product Code: B0149OB

Alternative Views:


Chess grandmaster Fridrik Ólafsson was the World championship candidate who became a national hero at home in Iceland and later President of the World Chess Federation, FIDE. This book follows his career with 114 games plus 4 game finishes, most of them played against leading grandmasters of several grandmasters, from the legendary Savielly Tartakower in 1954 to David Navara in 2013.

The core of this book are 50 games which Fridrik presented and annotated for his Icelandic games collection back in 1976. Among his defeated opponents in this book are World Champions Petrosian, Tal, Fischer and Karpov, and lots of the world's other strongest players.

At long last Fridrik Ólafsson's chess career, with commentaries to many of his best and instructive attacking games, is available in English. Jan Timman wrote: "With his unorthodox and enterprising style posed a threat to all top players, including the Soviet elite."

Media Mail Eligible

Media Mail® shipping from the US Postal Service is the cost-effective way to ship Books, Software and DVDs. With shipping rates starting at only $5.00, it's the most affordable shipping method available.


Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Chess Saga of Fridrik Olafsson

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

IMMEDIATE SHIPPING!!! Order within and it'll ship on Wednesday.

Product Details

Additional Information

ISBN 9788290779288
Manufacturer Norsk Sjakkforlag
Author/s Fridrik Olafsson, Oystein Brekke
Pages 287 pages
Publication Date May 3, 2021
Notation Type AN - Algebraic
Book Binding Type Hardcover